Freedom Boat Club Hands Out Awards At National Conference


Freedom Boat Club Hands Out Awards At National Conference

Freedom Boat Club Tampa Bay, owned by Glenn Bergoffen (left), received four of the franchisor’s top national awards, including 2016 Franchise of the Year. He is shown with chief operating officer Lisa Reho and Freedom Boat Club president and CEO John Giglio.

Nine achievement awards were presented last week at the Freedom Boat Club National Franchise Conference at the Hyatt Regency in Sarasota, Fla.

Club owners and operators from throughout North America gathered with corporate staff and key vendors Nov. 13-17 for professional development and training programs, new product launches and award recognitions.

“We are very proud of this year’s slate of top franchise performers,” Freedom Boat Club president and CEO John Giglio said in a statement. “Our franchisees are continuing to raise the bar. Their performances, both individually and collectively, are certainly impressive.”

Freedom Boat Club Tampa Bay, owned by Glenn Bergoffen, swept four of the top national awards, including 2016 Franchise of the Year. Bergoffen and his crew also took home the 2016 Highest Percentage of Revenue Increase and 2016 Territory Expansion awards while also being named to the franchisor’s Pacesetter Club of top performers.

Giglio cited Bergoffen’s organization as a model club, featuring notable growth and financial strength, a well-maintained fleet, strong marketing programs and satisfied club members.

Eight franchisees were recognized with Pacesetter Awards for outstanding overall performance, revenue growth and membership satisfaction: Freedom Boat Club of Tampa Bay; Freedom Boat Club of Daytona Beach/New Smyrna; Freedom Boat Club of Lake Norman, N.C.; Freedom Boat Club of Massachusetts; Freedom Boat Club of San Diego; Freedom Boat Club of Lake Austin/Texas; Freedom Boat Club of New York; and Freedom Boat Club North Gulf Coast.

Chief marketing officer Wanda Kenton Smith presented three marketing awards.

The Marketer of the Year award was won by Freedom Boat Club — Lake Erie. The club enjoyed strong growth in 2016, thanks to a mix of targeted marketing activities and multiple new outreach initiatives, including the launch of a women’s boating group and a Great Lakes marketing coalition involving other Freedom Boat Clubs.

The Marketing Brand Champion award is given to an individual who most passionately embodies and promotes the Freedom Boat Club brand. This year’s winner was Andrew Hard, Huntington Beach, Calif.

Eight Freedom Boat Clubs in North America received special recognition for outstanding service as members of the franchisor’s National Marketing Advisory Council.

Appointed members and their respective clubs recognized included Lisa Almeida, Jacksonville/St. Augustine, Fla.; Matthew Carrick, Greater Boston; Dan Hasbrouck, San Diego; Scott Isaacks, Texas; Karen Berry, Grand Strand, S.C.; JoAnna Goldberg, Annapolis, Md.; Matthew O’Hara, Lake George, N.Y.; and Carrie Raney, Lake Erie, Ohio.

The 2016 Rookie of the Year award, given to a new franchise with the best overall sales and performance statistics in a one-year period, was presented to Sandy and Jamie Purdon, Vancouver, B.C. — the franchisor’s first international Freedom Boat Club.

The Guardian of Reciprocity award was won by Matthew O’Hara, Freedom Boat Club Lake George, N.Y. The award is presented to the club that most warmly welcomes and embraces “reciprocal” club members and delivers an exceptional member experience.


Freedom Boat Club Hands Out Awards At National Conference

Click here to view the original article